european students’ union

Elected Representatives

ESU Representatives

ESU has a democratic structure based on the primacy of its members – 45 national unions of students from 39 different countries across Europe (May 2016).  ESU’s highest governing body, the Board, meets twice a year and elects ESU’s representatives for a one year mandate, where each member country is given two votes.

ESU’s representative structure consists out of an elected Executive Committee (EC), whose work is supported by three coordinators, experts’ pools and working groups. Since 2014, ESU has had a working group on the post-2015 millenium development goals of the United Nations.

The daily work of the Executive Committee is supported by a professional Secretariat which consists of a Head of Secretariat, an Executive Assistant, a Communications Manager, Project Manager, a Project Officer and a Financial Officer, all based in Brussels. For more information on the Secretariat and how to contact ESU’s staff members, click here

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) consists out of a President, two Vice Presidents (together called ‘The Presidency’) and seven general members. The EC is responsible for steering and organising the organisation, both politically and financially, on a day-to-day basis. It is responsible for carrying out the decisions that are taken by the Board Meeting, ESU’s highest decision-making body, where all of its member unions participate.

The following people have been elected for ESU's Executive Committee from 2017 to 2018:

Helge Schwitters

  • +32 4 79 12 6390

Caroline Sundberg

Vice President
  • +32 4 79 59 1499

Adam Gajek

Vice President
  • +32 472 19 99 62

Chiara Patricolo

Executive Committee member

Filip Příhoda

Executive Committee member

Gohar Hovhannisyan

Executive Committee member

João Martins

Executive Committee member

Aleksandar Šušnjar

Executive Committee member

Katrina Koppel

Executive Committee member

Yolanda Trujillo Adriá

Executive Committee member

ESU's coordinators (appointed by the Executive Committee):

Robert Henthorn

Membership Coordinator

Simona Gamonte

Human Rights and Solidarity Coordinator

Patrick Dempsey

Equality Coordinator

Newsletter sign-up

We make sure you dont miss any news